Week 7 – The sound of voice

In this task I had to edit a recording of a voice in order to make it sound like it was coming through a walkie talkie and then I had to edit a recording of walla (which is sort of background mumbling that would be heard in some films, TV shows and games to portray that what’s being said is irrelevant or boring) to sound like it was coming through an old TV. The processes were somewhat similar as I would take the sound, edit out any irrelevant noises by using the noise removal tool or by deleting the parts that weren’t needed entirely. I would then add in a white noise sound effect to give off the idea of the static/interference that walkie talkie’s and old TV’s had but with the walkie talkie I would silence the white noise whenever the person wasn’t talking whereas with the TV I only stopped the static when the TV was turned off. I also distorted the sound of the voice for the walkie talkie to give a more authentic feel when listening to it. Overall I was happy with what I produced and have learnt how to edit voices a bit and how to edit them to sound like they’re coming through something that has interference/static and bad speakers.

 

Leave a Reply

