Week 3 – Does music have an impact on the creative production of art?

In this task I had to listen to different genres of music and draw how it made me feel as the song progressed, I started off slightly confused by the task and as it went on I started to go from lines and shapes to drawing the mental image I had of each piece. This is primary research as I drew using the emotions the music caused to get a first hand look on how different music can effect people. This can be related to games through soundtracks, for instance I wouldn’t choose rap if I was trying to make a calm and relaxing game and I wouldn’t choose Reggae if I was trying to make a fast-paced action scene.


I found that with Reggae, Johny Cash and Opera I was more relaxed whereas with Metallica I was feeling much more excited and was only thinking about things in the moment. With Barbie Girl I found that I was actually quite happy, most likely due to it’s upbeat tune. Overall I found that different pieces and genres of music can trigger many different reactions and emotions in a person.

This can show that music impacts people greatly and can give off many different emotions but this varies depending on the person, genre, tune, lyrics and even the music video (if it has one). If music can inspire different feelings then it can inspire the look of art which means that music inspires and changes the creative side of people.

2 thoughts on “Week 3 – Does music have an impact on the creative production of art?

Leave a Reply

